Blue Mound Memorial Library

May 2017 Meeting Minutes

Blue Mound Memorial Library

Board of Trustees’ Meeting

May 22, 2017



Attendance:         Dani Noland, President

Ann Byard, Vice President

Seth Gault, Secretary

Amy Brown, Treasurer

Kathy Bownlee

Sally Hamon

Alice Reed, Staff

Julie Jones, Library Director

Matt Dilbeck


The meeting was called to order at 6 pm by President Dani Noland.  The Board recited the Pledge of Allegiance.


Secretary Seth Gault read minutes of the last meeting.  Kathy Brownlee made a motion to accept the minutes of the last meeting and second by Amy Brown.  Motion carried and minutes were approved.


Amy Brown distributed the Treasurer’s Report and asked for discussion. President Dani Noland asked for a review of bills.  Ann Byard moved to pay bills, second by Kathy Brownlee.  Motion carried.  Bills were directed to be paid.

Julie Jones gave her librarian Report which included Summer Reading, beginning with sign up June 5 – 10 and June 14th with the first program by Next of Kiln at the Community Building.  June 21st, Coach Steeval and the State Finalist Softball Team Members will join Summer Reading participants in a game of Wiffleball and June 28th a presentation by Steve Coach “Absolute Science” will be held.


Julie also reported Jill White is volunteering at the library each week and we welcome her help.  Megan Pistorius and her 4-H members will be planting flowers in the front flower box soon and plan to donate a flag.  Free books were received in the mail and these will be available free for distribution on the front door carts.  Julie and her staff have completed inventory of the actual books and has begun the necessary paperwork involved after this process.  Julie also stated the staff has been informed to limit children to 30 minutes at a time on the computers for the summer and the phone used by children will also have restrictions and be monitored.

The power went off this past week and Julie noticed the batteries in the emergency light in the back hall needs checked.  She will call Jack Trimble.


Old Business included Dustin Clark replaced the outside water faucet on May 10th and Curt Swigert was contacted to remove the dead tree on the Annex side of the building.  The check for the Lions Club for the Easter egg Hunt was also received.


New Board member Matt Dilbeck was welcomed to the Board and Thanks was given to those members leaving our Board.  Matt Dilbeck was sworn in as a new member of the Board.


Sally Hamon made a motion to accept new officers as listed below and Kathy Brownlee seconded the motion.  Motion passed.


Officers of the Board :      Anne Byard, President

Kathy Bownlee, Vice President

Diana Kupish, Secretary

Amy Brown, Treasurer


Amy Brown made a motion to adopt prevailing wages, Kathy Bownlee made a second and motion passed.


President Ann Byard appointed the following for the Budget Committee:  Amy Brown, Matt Dilbeck, Dani Noland, Alice Reed and Julie Jones.


The Board passed Ordinance No. 2017-1(.02 Ordinance) with Matt Dilbeck making the motion and Dani Noland seconded the motion.


Kathy Brownlee made a motion to adopt the Non Resident Fee by tax bill method.  Matt Dilbeck made a second and motion passed.


Kathy Brownlee made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Matt Dilbeck and motion carried.  Meeting was adjourned at 6:46 pm.


Dani Noland


There are currently no items in this folder.